Grove Press: Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata

From City Lights Bookstore

Upcoming Events

Louise Runyon Poetry Reading

09/21/2019 - 3:00PM

Louise Runyon will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, September 21st at 3 p.m. She will read selections from her latest poetry collection, The Passion of Older Women. Louise Runyon is a dancer/choreographer, political activist, urban farmer, student of Italian, and a former steelworker. The Passion of Older Women is her fourth collection of poetry.  To reserve copies please call City Lights Bookstore in Sylva, NC at 828-586-9499. 

Vietnam Photographs From North Carolina Veterans

09/24/2019 - 6:30PM

Award-winning photojournalist, Martin Tucker will visit City Lights Bookstore on Tuesday, September 24th at 6:30 p.m. He will present his book, Vietnam Photographs from North Carolina Veterans.  When American soldiers returned home from Vietnam, most put their memories away. Decades later, North Carolina veterans contributed thousands of dusty and faded personal photographs to what started as a class project at the Sawtooth School for Visual Art in Winston-Salem. It evolved into a...

Diane C. McPhail Book Signing

10/05/2019 - 3:00PM

Diane C. McPhail will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, October 5th at 3 p.m. She will present her historical novel, The Abolitionist’s Daughter.  In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist's Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.   Diane C. McPhail is an artist, writer, and minister. In addition to holding an M.F.A., an M.A., and D.Min., she has studied...

A History of St. David’s-in-the-Valley Episcopal Church

10/11/2019 - 6:30PM

June Smith will present her book at City Lights Bookstore on Friday, October 11th at 6:30 p.m. Do the Little Things That You Have Seen Me Do and Heard About is a history of St. David’s Episcopal Church in Cullowhee, NC from 1883 to 2017.

Two New Photographic Collections by Tim Barnwell

10/18/2019 - 6:30PM

Asheville photographer, Tim Barnwell will return to City Lights Bookstore on Friday, October 18th at 6:30 p.m. He will present his two books of photography, Faces & Places of Cashiers Valley and Tide Runners: Shrimping and Fishing on the Carolinas and Georgia Coast.    The Faces and Places of Cashiers Valley project was initially begun in 2010 as a one-time arrangement between Mr. Barnwell and the Cashiers Historical Society.  The society wanted to raise awareness about...

Todd May Returns with His New Book

10/19/2019 - 3:00PM

Clemson University professor, Todd May will return to City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, October 19th at 3 p.m. He will present his latest book, A Decent Life: Morality for the Rest of Us.  With this book, Todd May has answers. He's not the sort of philosopher who tells us we have to be model citizens who display perfect ethics in every decision we make. He's realistic: he understands that living up to ideals is a constant struggle. In A Decent Life, May leads readers through the...

See more events >>