Oxford University Press: The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke by Jeffrey C. Stewart

From City Lights Bookstore

Upcoming Events

Ann Melton

04/20/2019 - 3:00PM

Ann Melton will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, April 20th at 3 p.m.  She will present her book While Walking with God.  The events of this book illustrate God’s unlimited and amazing power; he is able to do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine. He promises that he will cause all things to work together for good for those who love him and are called according to his purpose. That means he will take our failures and mistakes and turn them into something worthwhile....

Kim Michele Richardson New Book Launch

05/04/2019 - 6:30PM

City Lights Bookstore will host Kim Michele Richardson to launch her new book on Saturday, May 4th at 6:30 p.m. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is Richardson’s fourth novel and is set in 1930’s Kentucky. The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything---everything except books that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome’s got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.  Cussy isn’t just a librarian. She’s the last of...

Horace Kephart Biography w/ George Ellison

05/05/2019 - 1:00PM

George Ellison will visit City Lights Bookstore on Sunday, May 5th at 1 p.m.  He will present the biography he and Janet McCue collaborated on, Back of Beyond: A Horace Kephart Biography.  Charles Frazier, author of Cold Mountain, said of the biography, “This meticulously researched and carefully considered book is a great contribution to the history and culture of the Southern Appalachians.”

Natalie Coward Anderson to Present Her Sophomore Novel

05/10/2019 - 6:30PM

Jackson County native, Natalie Coward Anderson will present her second Young Adult novel on Friday, May 10th at 6:30 p.m. at City Lights Bookstore. Her new novel, Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday brings to life the plight of a boy soldier, Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What. When Abdi's family is kidnapped, he's forced...

Dana Wildsmith & Susan O’Dell Underwood Poetry Reading

05/25/2019 - 3:00PM

  Dana Wildsmith and Susan O’Dell Underwood will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, May 25th at 3 p.m. They will read from their latest collections of poetry, One Light and The Book of Awe, respectively. Dana Wildsmith is the author of a novel, Jumping, and an environmental memoir, Back to Abnormal: Surviving With An Old Farm in the New South, which was a finalist for Georgia Author of the Year. She is also the author of five collections of poetry. Wildsmith has served as...

Dana Wildsmith & Susan O’Dell Underwood Poetry Reading

05/25/2019 - 3:00PM

  Dana Wildsmith and Susan O’Dell Underwood will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, May 25th at 3 p.m. They will read from their latest collections of poetry, One Light and The Book of Awe, respectively. Dana Wildsmith is the author of a novel, Jumping, and an environmental memoir, Back to Abnormal: Surviving With An Old Farm in the New South, which was a finalist for Georgia Author of the Year. She is also the author of five collections of poetry. Wildsmith has served as Artist-...

Thomas Rain Crowe’s Yan Goll Collection

05/31/2019 - 6:30PM

Thomas Rain Crowe will visit City Lights Bookstore on Friday, May 31st at 6:30 p.m.  He will present the collected poems of Yan Goll he edited titled, The Inner Trees.  Yvan Goll is one of the most important but neglected European writers of the 20th century Because he wrote in several languages and was not claimed by any country his work is not well known here. This book includes translations spanning sixty years which have been out of print for decades. The translators include...

See more events >>